Musica Britannica title


The Lewis Memorial Prize Competition was established by the Musica Britannica Trust in 1986 in memory of the first General Editor and Chairman of Musica Britannica, Sir Anthony Lewis. The competition now commemorates the lives of both Sir Anthony and Lesley, Lady Lewis, who supported it for many years. Held annually, the competition is for singers, keyboard players, or consorts.

The 2023 competition was for keyboard players and was held on Tuesday 4 April at the Royal Academy of Music in London.

We are delighted to announce that First Prize in the competition was awarded to:

Matthew Brown (Guildhall School of Music and Drama)

Matthew receives £1,000 and three Musica Britannica volumes of his choice.

The panel awarded Second Prize to:

Apolline Khou (Royal College of Music)

Apolline receives £500 and three Musica Britannica volumes of her choice.

We also offer our congratulations to the other finalists:

Edward Campbell-Rowntree (Royal Northern College of Music)

Alfred Fardell (University of Oxford)

Xiaowen Shang (Royal Academy of Music)

The judges were Julian Perkins, Professor Rebecca Herissone, Professor Peter Holman and Dr Valerie Langfield.

An announcement giving details of the 2024 competition will be placed on this page in early summer 2023.